How Do I Configure My Router After Resetting?

What happens after resetting router?

Once you reset the router, the settings will be reverted to its factory defaults.

All of the customized settings of the router (Wi-Fi name (SSID), wireless security, etc.) will be erased.

IMPORTANT: If you want to restore the router’s original settings without re-configuring it, you have to save a backup file..

Is it good to reset your router?

“In general, it’s a great idea to reboot the main Internet router every couple of months. … It’s also a good security practice to reboot the router every once in a while.” The benefits of regularly rebooting your router are twofold. If you want a faster connection, you should be regularly turning your router on and off.

How do I restore my router after factory reset?

Click the Administration tab then click on the Factory Defaults sub-tab. Step 3: Under the Factory Defaults section, click on the Restore Factory Defaults button. After resetting the router to its default settings, reconfigure it according to your Internet service.

Will resetting my router mess up my Internet?

It’s important to note that when you reset your home router you will lose all of your current network settings, like the name of the Wi-Fi network, its password, etc. … The most universal way to reset a router, however, is via the reset button, usually found on the router’s back or underside.

What happens if I press the reset button on my router?

The reset button restores your modem to its factory default settings. This also erases any customized settings you may have changed, including: static IP address setup, DNS, personalized password, customized wireless settings, port forwarding, routing and DHCP settings.

Why does my router keep resetting itself?

It could be that your internet provider changes your IP address often, and your router doesn’t catch on. Maybe it’s overheating, or maybe it’s getting bogged down by too many connections at once (which can happen if you download a lot).