What Is IMCO Code?

What is IMDG Code?

IMDG Code or International Maritime Dangerous Goods Code is accepted by MSC(Maritime Safety Committee) as an international guideline to the safe transportation or shipment of dangerous goods or hazardous materials by water on vessel..

Which code is associated with dangerous goods?

CLASSIFICATION OF DANGEROUS GOODS The International Maritime Dangerous Goods (IMDG) Code was developed as a uniform international code for the transport of dangerous goods by sea covering such matters as packing, container traffic and stowage, with particular reference to the segregation of incompatible substances.

What is IMCO cargo?

Regulations. The Carriage of dangerous goods and marine pollutants in sea-going ships is respectively regulated in the International Convention for the Safety of the Life at Sea (SOLAS) and the International Convention for the Prevention of pollution from Ships (MARPOL).

What is the purpose of IMDG Code?

The objective of the IMDG Code is to enhance the safe transport of dangerous goods while facilitating the free unrestricted movement of such goods. The IMDG Code contains details of all the numerous dangerous cargoes offered for carriage by sea and includes solid, liquid and gaseous substances.

How many classes are in IMDG Code?

9 classesThe 9 classes of dangerous goods. The Australian Dangerous Goods Code establishes all hazardous substances into 9 different dangerous goods classes according to their physical and chemical properties and the risks that they present. Division 1.1: substances and articles which have a mass explosion hazard.

What are the contents of IMDG Code?

The IMDG code consists of two books (volume 1 and volume 2), and the IMDG code supplement….Volume 1 includes the following chapters:Part 1 General provisions, definitions and training.Part 2 Classification.Part 4 Packing and tank provisions.Part 5 Consignment procedures.More items…•

How do you identify DG goods?

proper shipping name (it is assigned by the United Nations Committee of Experts for the Transport of Dangerous. … CAS number is a unique numerical identifiers for chemical elements (CAS=Chemical Abstracts Service is a division of. … UN number is a four digit number assigned by the United Nations to identify dangerous goods.

What is IMCO surcharge?

When transporting goods classified by the UN as hazardous (in accordance with the IMDG code), the shipping company imposes a surcharge on the sea freight. This relates to the additional handling required for planning the goods at the terminal and onboard the ship.

What are the 9 classes of dangerous goods?

The 9 Classes of Dangerous GoodsExplosive materials (Class 1) … Gases (Class 2) … Flammable Liquids (Class 3) … Flammable Solids (Class 4) … Oxidising Substances and Organic Pesticides (Class 5) … Toxic and Infections Substances (Class 6) … Radioactive Materials (Class 7) … Corrosive Materials (Class 8)More items…•

How do you classify dangerous goods?

Classifying dangerous goodsClass 1 – Explosives.Class 2 – Gases.Class 3 – Flammable Liquids.Class 4 – Flammable Solids.Class 5 – Oxidizing Substances.Class 6 – Toxic and Infectious Substances.Class 7 – Radioactive Materials.Class 8 – Corrosives.More items…

What is placard number?

UN/NA numbers They help identify hazardous international cargo traveling in the United States. … These four-digit numbers range from 8000-9279 and are assigned by the DOT. All UN and NA placards come with an identifier that helps shippers determine the cargo’s class, division and compatibility group.

What is the meaning of IMCO in shipping?

Intergovernmental Maritime Consultative OrganizationIMCO in British English abbreviation for. Intergovernmental Maritime Consultative Organization: the department of the United Nations concerned with international maritime safety, antipollution regulations, etc.